I suck at predicting how long certain tasks will take me to complete. I suck at staying on a task for an extended period of time. Basically, I suck at time management in general.

Bring on the 30/30 app! “30/30” comes from the general idea that if you work for a certain period of time, you should get to take a break for a balanced amount of time, e.g. fold laundry for 30 minutes, watch 30 minutes of TV (hence, 30/30). Certainly, the idea that one gets a 30-minute break after accomplishing a 30-minute task is a little unrealistic, but I loved the concept and was eager to try the app.

Here’s how it works:

  • You create a list, e.g. “cleaning the house” or in my case, “after school.” This list will contain tasks.
  • Add in what needs to get done. For my after school time, I’ve included mundane tasks like “emptying out turn-in baskets” and “updating the whiteboard” so that I don’t forget to complete them before I leave, but you can add in any task that you want. You can even change the color or a task and assign it a little icon (which I loved, but I’m weird like that). I have also put in little 10-15 minute breaks into most of my lists, to go back to the whole 30/30 concept.
  • Assign each task a time limit. They can be as short or as long as you need them to be. (Don’t worry, these time limits are flexible if you need them to be and you can add or subtract minutes if necessary!)
  • Press the start button. The app will start keeping time for you, and will alert you to when it’s time to move on to the next item on your list. My favorite part of the app is that it will also tell you when you’re projected to be finished so that you have something to look forward to (at the end of my “after school” list, I get to go home. Yay.)

That’s it!

The instructions on how to use the app.
The instructions on how to use the app.
One of my lists that I use at work. Pretty neat, right?
One of my lists that I use at work. Pretty neat, right? Notice that I can add or subtract minutes if I need to. At the top of the circle, there is a check mark that you can click to get rid of the task if it’s complete, an arrow to move it to the end of the list, or a trash can to throw it away if you no longer need it as a part of the list.

Give this app a try — I love it and have used it for everything from cleaning the house to working after school and getting myself out of the house on time in the morning (I’m slow to get ready… ).

Mrs. K

