The tragedy at Sandy Hook occurred just under one month ago.

A lot can happen in a month, and hopefully, the wounds in Newtown are starting to heal. Surely, nothing will ever “fix” the tragic events that took place on December 14th, 2012, but maybe the passage of time will help to ease the pain of the families affected.

Maybe it’s just me, but I’ve started to think that once a story is out of the news, people stop talking about it altogether. The thoughts and prayers being sent to families cease, and people are “over it.”

I’m not there yet. I’m not over it.

With my kiddos returning to classes on Monday, and all of us trying to settle back into our groove again, I’m re-enamored with their silliness and energy, their jokes, and the looks on their faces when the wheels in their brains are turning and all of a sudden, they GET IT. I’m so fortunate to have a group of students that are this wonderful. And so, when I think of the bravery and sacrifice of the teachers at Sandy Hook, I am inspired, and the passage of time won’t change that.

Chan Lowe: What Sandy Hook taught us about teachers

Mrs. K

