Math on Mondays. I think it works.

This is my first year as the 6th-grade math league coach. Up to this point, I’ve been feeling pretty good about it, because my sweet little team comes in, we figure out problems together, and the kids always do a great job figuring out the pattern or solving the problems we work through during our hour together after school. We had our first math league meet last Monday, and I’m feeling a little sad because the kids worked so hard, but were totally stumped in the competition and didn’t do too well. One little guy cried on his way out because he didn’t earn a ribbon, and others sat staring at the questions during the competition and told me later that they couldn’t understand the questions… I can’t let that happen again next month! I mean, I can’t change the wording of the questions, but I can definitely help in making sure that the kiddies understand what they’re being asked!

And then, it occurred to me. DUH, I need to be using my coding strategies that I use in class on these math league problems! It’s the same issue, just a different setting — time to apply the skills that kids are practicing in class! I’m confident that using these will help kids be far more successful in future competitions, because I’ve already seen some results in my classroom during my core teaching time. I can’t take credit for these strategies, but I found them on Pinterest and had to make my own.

Any time my kids and I come across a story problem (which, strangely, is often… 😉 ), we use these strategies to plan how we’re going to attack the problem, and then double-check our work to make sure we’ve done everything we’re supposed to have done to answer all parts of the question.

If you’re interested in my versions of these posters, head on over to my TpT store! 🙂 I also have the frames (originals that I’ve drawn) available for purchase.

